Reviews

Global Citizen – Nil By Mouth Review – Grave Concerns E-Zine, 7th July 2013

Following their first album Master Stroke in 2008 and a move to Glory and Honour Records in 2011 Global Citizen     released their second album Nil By Mouth in April 2011. Frontman shaven headed Rich ‘September’ Mills who resembles a cross between Star Trek Romulan Nero and Ming The Merciless wrote and produced the 11 tracks on the album. Rich has a deep, dark, distinctive, alluring voice which complements this with hypnotic Numanesque style synths.

Nil By Mouth is a dark, erotic, electronic album ideally suited to the Alternative/ Fetish scene but equally good to play privately at home.Three of the tracks Kimoch II, Nil By Mouth, and Immaculate Ejaculate are instrumental. The rest of the album was co produced and mixed by Saul Strange who also did the brilliant Glitter and Ash remix of Tea Time.

Global Citizen was awarded the ‘Best Album’ award in the DSO Music Awards in 2011.I rate this album a well deserved 9 out 10 – a guilty pleasure!

Kimochi II – A dark, heavy instrumental track with a pulsating throbbing rhythm throughout with the Japanese words ‘Kimochi’ whispered seductively in our ears. I love the long pause near the end, then the music bursts back in and is thrust upon us briefly once more.

Don’t Make It Slow – The song which really sets the mood for the album. A slow steady synthetic beat with Rich providing deep robotic like vocals which penetrate deep into your dark soul. Lie down …. enjoy the ride!

Things – My favourite track of the album. Simple lyrics with fantastic synths, very reminiscent of early Numan. The instrumental part is brilliant. This song sounds particularly good live and the drums make a noticeable difference. Incidentally this is the track that Saul Strange did the most mixing on. Good stuff!

New – This is a follow up track to the song ‘The Only One’, a song about a fictional prostitute girlfriend in a relationship with the singer. ‘New’ is about the same girlfriend returning to the game and advertising herself as ‘New’ after their relationship splits up.

Nil By Mouth – Instrumental track from which the album takes its name.

Broken Doll – Although some may perceive this song to be about a girl trying to escape from a violent relationship it is actually about a girl who enjoys this kind of rough, sadistic relationship and acts out her ‘violent sexual fantasies’. However as the levels of violence increase so do her injuries, resulting in hospital visits. The girl makes up silly excuses for her injuries culminating in increasing violence so as the story goes on she becomes weaker and weaker and more ‘broken’ until in the final verse she is hanging on to life from her injuries. Musically another fantastic track. Rich’s vocals on this track are like dark velvet.

Early Morning Star – An erotic song about anal sex. Great music for the Fetish club scene. Raunchy track with erotic lyrics and tantalising whisperings from the singer, teasing you in as the song builds into a crescendo.

Your Majesty – A song about a disastrous relationship where no matter how hard he tries to please he can never satisfy ‘your majesty’.

The Hilton – A song about a first sexual encounter with a soon to be long term girlfriend. Based on a true experience when the singer was staying at a friend’s home but managed to get locked out in the early hours of the morning so ended up staying at the Hilton. This track along with ‘New’ are Rich’s favourite tracks from the album. ‘I just love the atmospheres they create’ (Rich Mills).

Immaculate Ejaculate – Instrumental

Sleep Precious Sleep – A song about the same relationship which started at the ‘Hilton’ but it is now ten years later, towards the end of their time and how the singer thinks his girlfriend was feeling at the time and time for him to reflect on the relationship. A gentle sensitive song and a strong favourite with the fans and my equal favourite with ‘Things’.

This track is currently available to order as a limited edition 7” picture disc with the ‘Hilton’.

Seabound/Global Citizen/Method Cell/Blume -Purple Turtle, Camden, London – 22 July 2012

Dark electronic mood merchants Global Citizenboast an unforgettable frontman in Rich ‘September’ Mills. When I first saw him as part of this band I said he looked like a deranged Cenobite from the film Hellraiser. Tonight, however, was one of the rare occasions that Mills performed sans the usual black ‘mask’ make-up and his usually flamboyant outfits. To me he looked like a streamlined version of serial prisoner Charles Bronson. But with Mills barefaced, and sporting just a vest, I wondered if the presence the band usually exude, created in no small part to his appearance, would be undermined. For any who had never seen them before – perhaps. For those fortunate to have seen them previously, thankfully, the answer was ‘no’. This was just as subversively thrilling as always. Of course, the presentation doesn’t affect the most important aspect of performing live – the music. And so it was here.

Indeed, as they were fielding a new live drummer, the music was as robust as ever, even enhanced on several tracks. Second song Slave is a showcase for the howling banshee side of Mills’ vocal repertoire. Whilst the drums on Don’t Make It Slow were massive – an improvement over previous live renditions. Of this evening’s all-to-brief 30 minute set, the repeatively hypnotic Things really stood out. A brilliant song that captures much of what makes Global Citizen so different to any would-be competition. There’s no getting around the fact that their sound is very much an acquired taste (even on this scene), and whilst not all of tonight’s audience were entirely comfortable with the Global Citizen’s challenging proposition, it didn’t noticeably dampen the band’s delivery. And Mills is as effective up front with or without make-up and theatrical wardrobe.

Global Citizen setlist: The Only One, Slave, Don’t Make It Slow, Early Morning Star, Things, Ain’t Over Yet, Your Majesty

Rob Dyer

Spider’s Web Festival 16th June 2012

Global Citizen had no soundcheck but within a second of their appearance on stage they ruled the atmosphere.  A band I have seen on a number of occasions before, my first time being at Dark Mills Festival in London in 2009.  Lead singer Rich September Mills has a tendency to stare at people, either driving you mad with paranoia, or making you want to just drop down on your knees and obey. I guarantee, that following their performance at Spider’s Web Festival, they were one of the most talked about and listened to bands here in Bristol.  In fact, I was told they should have been the headliners.  I am delighted to have worked with these musicians and very proud to have been able to introduce them to the Bristol scene.  You can catch their opening act on Youtube (search for Global Citizen at Spider’s Web Festival).  In their 30 minute set they made us dance indeed, ripped apart all that we knew or thought we knew of EBM/Goth/Industrial .

Review of Spider’s Web Festival 2012 by Spider

Global Citizen – Don’t Make It Slow EP review – June 2012

Not sure where to begin with this one. Largely because I’m gob-smacked at the creativity and quality. This is one of the best remix EPs I’ve ever heard.

Available only as a digital download, this comprises twelve tracks tweaking, flexing and completely distorting Don’t Make It Slow which first appeared on last year’s (dsoaudio award-winning) Nil By Mouth album. This perfectly expands the familiar Global Citizen sound, some taking them deep into hitherto unexplored territory. Most remarkable of all is just how damn good all these versions sound given the diversity of interpretations included. There’s everything from electro-stompers (As Instructed Remix by Steve Adam for PF3), to idm (Coma Remix by GCEE), to dub (Make It Dub Remix by Mistrust), soundtrack (Hate & Love Remix by TMWDE), and even chamber music (M.O.D.E. Ensemble Remix by The Wilder Anal Experience – apparently). Whilst the Fusion Pinz Remix by Skinmechanic sounds like one of those quality Depeche Mode remixes of the singles off Violator.

Most satisfyingly though is that the majority are explorations into the outer reaches of the Global Citizen universe. The extent of which just might even surprise some of their staunchest fans [spots reflection in mirror ;-)]. Whichever path is taken, impressively, this succeeds at just about every turn. In the vanilla version that kick starts this 45minute journey the similarities between Rich ‘September’ Mills’ voice and the dearly, departed Fad Gadget are only all too apparent. Frank Tovey’s alter ego is one that should always be treated with deference and respect – so I don’t make the comparison lightly The qualities are co-incidental. This is no attempt at mere mimicry. Indeed, Mills himself has said he was only faintly familiar with Fad Gadget until people began pointing out the similarities, but they are striking at times.

Up until listening to this, Don’t Make It Slow was not a song that particularly stood out for me. However, this remarkable EP confirms Global Citizen (with impressive assistance from his cohorts) as a serious talent deserving of serious attention. (In spite of those irrepressibly pornographic lyrics.) 8/10

Rob Dyer – DSO Audio (June 2012)

Global Citizen – Broken Doll EP review – April 2012

Released as the second single from the album ‘Nil By Mouth’, and featuring a generous 11 tracks, ‘Broken Doll’ is an experiment in prowess and diversity, and by that, I refer to my surprise (and delight) at an Eleven track single.

The first track on here is the single edit of ‘Broken Doll’, which for the uninitiated is a slow track somewhere between EBM, Goth, and Darkwave, and I’ll give Rich Mills a heap of credit from the word ‘go’ – his voice echoes that of Andrew Eldrich, without at anytime sounding like a clone. In addition, the track builds up slowly, and the lush production allows a nice rock-ish climax to the song, which makes it very easy to draw a comparison to Gothic Rock.

I always thought that you could summarise GC by loosely mixing Eldrich and Numan with a touch of sexual groove – there are bands that do their own thing, and then there are Global Citizen, who make it quite clear from their album covers that they do nothing by the book. (Why should they?).

The first remix on the single is by fellow British act ‘Flesh Eating Foundation’ (known for their punkish approach to Industrial). This remix furthers the hallmarks of gothic rock, focusing a lot more on the slow, pulsing drum work, and the heavy, downtuned, but thoroughly enjoyable Guitar effects.

‘Reisztrom’ turn the track into more of a club number, increasing both beat and synth work, and the real trick to a good remix is revealed here – making the key instrument (in this case, Rich’s distinct, powerful voice) stand out through varying styles, effects, and distortions.

‘Mistrust’, ‘Flip Martian’ and ‘GCEE’ add another three remixes to the release, with the ‘GCEE’ addition particularly attracting me due to the enhanced piano, which gives Mill’s voice something of an agonised, mournful approach.

‘Ghost In The Static’ give the track a much heavier approach, bordering Industrial Metal, and this upcoming UK based act are growing from strength to strength. The remix is over 7 minutes, but once again the production succeeds in making everything crisp and decipherable.

The remix by ‘Echoes of Everything’ left a positive mark, but my one criticism of this single is that with 8 remixes of the same song all following each other, it’s a little daunting. Maybe the track order could have used a little reshuffle, but I can understand why it’s ordered like it is, and it carries the same uniformed discipline that Global Citizen do.

‘Lethal Injection’ mixes things up, and is an instrumental track that reminds me at times of Aphex Twin, mixed with Gabber and Breakcore. It’s very bouncy and uplifting, and a huge contrast, but that works VERY well.

The first of the two closing tracks is a remix of ‘Clown’ by ‘Bedroom Fanatic’. I don’t recall the original, but the spoken word lyrics are clever and amusing, it’s also completely unexpected, and at times reminds me of Coil’s hypnotic work.

Finally, ‘Anonymous’ remix ‘Zero Butterfly’. This is the first true, fast paced EBM track on the single, and it closes things off nicely with it’s techno blast’s that pulse through it like a car alarm.

As singles go, this compliments the album beautifully. Rich has a charming voice, and the instrumentation is very well performed. The production does nothing wrong, I can hear everything, the bits that are supposed to stand out really do, and this is a cd that won’t stay in it’s little sleeve for long.

Nick Quarm – Brutal Resonance – 7/10

Global Citizen – Nil By Mouth album review – March 2012

Glory & Honour Records 2011 – Industrial/Dark synth/Electronica

Track Listing: 1.Kimochi ii 2.Don’t Make It Slow 3.Things 4.New 5.Nil By Mouth 6.Broken Doll 7.Early Morning Star 8.Your Majesty 9.Hilton 10.Immaculate Ejaculate 11.Sleep Precious Sleep.

Up until the present time, I will admit I have not paid any real attention or given any real time to the Dark Synth/Electronic/Industrial music genres and may have subconsciously considered it to not be something that would appeal to my musical taste.  When it comes to synth/electronic music I tend to stick to what I know and grew up with, Ultravox, Kraftwerk, early 80s stuff, but now it’s time to start thinking outside the box. I am so pleased that I decided to explore and have a listen to Global Citizens’ second album, Nil By Mouth, which achieved an award for best album in the DSO Music 2011 Awards, and rightly so, I am no longer a doubter.

As the follow up to the 2008 album Master Stroke, all I can say is WOW!!! With a unique and very clear sound throughout, it’s extremely well put together and the sounds used marry together very well. The people involved here know what they are doing and are very professional.  As well as sounding like heavy work is being executed on machinery, the album also has melody, a dancey vibe here and there, a nostalgic kick, and manages to come across as sincere. The vocals are powerful and full of self expression, direct and to the point, Numan and Sisters of Mercy for me come to mind.

Each track possesses it’s own unique character and there is absolutely no repetition on this album, a lot of passion and feel, it is aggressive but it is positive, channeled aggression.  Track 3 “Things” has a brilliant drum beat and I had the urge to dance, the lyrics seem to be touching on self judgement, the piano compliments it well.  In the title track “Nil By Mouth” I can hear Sisters of Mercy, it has a similar feel and passion, albeit in an instrumental.  Track 8 “Your Majesty” has a strong techno feel, pulsating, very energetic and makes you want to burn up the dance floor, or do a strenuous exercise regime, or drive very fast in a car, it made me feel like I was at a mid 90s rave ( and I attended a fair few ).  Track 11 “Sleep Precious Sleep” is my favourite, emotional & compassionate and a love song perhaps? I am blown away by this totally, it brings a tear to my eye, and it just shows how much lyrical talent is on display here and that GC can go in any musical direction they wish, it is sheer evidence that a first impression, i.e. the album cover, is not all it seems. No, GC are not all about sexual imagery like some reviews would have you think.

When a brilliant album is made, the masses usually wonder if the band have the same strengths live as they do in the studio, I have not seen GC live yet, but from what I have heard and read, they can cut it live too with strong presence, and strong performance.  I think this album would get a thumbs up from synth greats like Billy Currie, John Foxx due to the usage and experimentation of sound, brilliant use of Electronics, 80s nostalgia, and a techno vibe all in one. An album that should not be pigeon holed into Industrial for example, because it stretches out into many genres and can appeal to many musical tastes.

10/10 – A big gold early morning star from me!

Lucy Shewchuk.
(http://www.linkedin.com/in/lyricallucyreviews)
Global Citizen supporting KMFDM – Islington Academy – London – Novermber 19th 2011

Flip me sideways daddy O! Global Citizen have transformed into a magnificent beast! The music sounds so good it made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up! for real!  If I had to describe the music in one word I’d say: Mesmerising!  Rich Mills must have sold his soul or something to have developed a voice that he poccesses. Needless to say that he sounds as good as he moves!   This is an awesome confident band who have come into their own! A couple fo people spoke to me directly and had nothing but praise for their stunning performance.  One guy even compared Rich to Gary Numan!  These guys will be er global!

Al McDonald – Blip Bop Magazine Winter special 2011

Global Citizen opening for Front 242 – Koko – London – December 11th 2011

It was great to see Global Citizen on this billing! They replaced Sheep On drugs and gave the event more of a variety. A sonic paint palette if you will!  The sound in Koko can be a bit hit and miss however with GC the sound wasa bit hollow. They seemed to be missing bass and mid range. To GC’s credit they gave a solid performance  and the hollowness worked for rich’s vocal which made him sound at times like a male Siouxsie Sioux!  It’s not easy being the first band on but Rich and his gang of satanic misfits took it in their stride.  I love their music and it was over too quick! global citizen’s music echoes in my head constantly and at random I find myself singing their tunes in the shower when I am shopping walking down the road etc   I wannabe Rich! don’t we all!

Al McDonald – Blip Bop Magazine Winter special 2011

You can download the Blip Bop magazine winter Special in full here: http://www.blip-bop.com/2011/blipbop_07_2011.pdf

A new review of Master Stroke:  Global Citizen – Master Stroke (Album 2008) ; Rebco Records

Master Stroke isn’t about the application of genius. Take a look at that cover. Listening to this first proper Global Citizen album (there was a self-release before this label-backed appearance) makes me think of those lines from David Cronenberg’s brilliant and visionary film Videodrome when a character says that what the authorities fear about a sexual snuff TV show Videodrome is less its graphic sadism but “…because it has a philosophy. I think Global Citizen (aka Richard Mills) has a philosophy. A cursory inspection might give you the impression that this is a fine soundtrack for fetish nightclubs or private sex sessions and this is more obsessive than one-dimensional as a cursory inspection might suggest. These fourteen tracks are mostly sexually charged. One imagines that Mill’s sex lifestyle is either a harrowing barrage of unorthodoxy or quite the opposite with this instead being the outpouring of one seriously frustrated individual! I am being slightly facetious. The cheekily-entitled Naughty Naked Nude could be a soundtrack to J.G. Ballard’s Crash but without the explicit referencing found in The Normal’s Warm Leatherette. Assuming the broad elements (minimal analogue synths a Numanesque voice sedate tempos strong melodic motifs and frequent erotic subject matter) are likely to be of interest and although one senses tongue firmly in cheek at times (as opposed to some other orifice!) for the most part this album comes across more as obsession sharing than seeking to shock per se. The only problem either way is that the outcome occasionally detracts from a series of fine moments and a general unorthodox compositional style.

My Lovers is six-and-a-half captivating minutes of low-BPM repeated minimal loops of bassline percussion and lead synth that sounds like a collaboration between Gary Numan and John Carpenter. The melodies woven into this are superb the combination creating a heady melange. Further evidence of just how beautiful Mills’ writing can be when he focuses entirely on doing everything to serve the song rather than feel the need to overtly stamp the I’m different label onto it simply listen to the moving Come And Find Me. It proves that his songwriting can move you without resorting to florid thrills. 7/10

Rob Dyer (December 2011)

http://www.dso.co.uk/globalcitizen.htm#Master

‘Nil By Mouth’ (Album 2011) ! DSO Recommended

Unless you are by chance already part of the dark underworld of shadowy erotica in which UK act Global Citizen revel then you too like me may take a little time to attune to their sound. I’d seen them live a few times and recognised leading member Rich ‘September’ Mills from a Jolyon gig he assisted with at the Notting Hill Arts Cafe a decade ago. (Once you’ve seen Mills live you’ll understand why he’s difficult to forget.) Actually listening to Nil By Mouth their second long-player I realise that I instantly love their sound but having heard it so much live first before hearing the studio work I simply didn’t get it before. Now all is clear. What they do is always likely to be niche for those partial to stark minimalist repetitive electronics and though unquestionably influenced by leading lights of the English 80s heydays is resolutely contemporary.

The striking fetishist sleeve artwork (in the same style as their debut album Master Stroke) depicting a bound and gagged naked female in the throes of Kinbaku (Japanese rope bondage) is a clear indicator and warning of what lies beneath. Should that (inexplicably) fail to provide ample notice then a track title like Immaculate Ejaculate will ensure that no-one of a sensitive or easily-offended disposition enters the world of Global Citizen by mistake. For those willing to step over the threshold indescribable delights await that will bring you to your knees in supplication. Mills can convey more in three or four divinely placed piano notes than other artists can in entire songs.

Any act that can sing with a straight face: No biscuits with our tea (Hilton) and still sound credible (let alone uber cool as here) deserves every success. Mill’s delivery is in part Gary Numan at times remarkably reminiscent of Fad Gadget but paying closer attention proves his voice is distinctive in its own right. Still he’s in pretty good company. The whole enterprise has a gorgeous warm analogue sound and feel with even the percussion on some tracks seeming to follow the early 80s improvisers by being created on monophonic analogue synthesizers as opposed to dedicated drum machines or heaven forbid a sampled drum kit.

There’s also much to like in Global Citizen’s bold refusal to pander to the expectation that you must have hi BPM tracks to get attention and a following. With one exception (Your Majesty, the second shortest track of the eleven) this all occupies the mid to low tempo range and reminds me: a) just how much I love the slow-burn route and b) just how infrequently we hear entire albums in this genre taking this approach. A rare spellbinding beauty pervades the entire album but is captured perfectly on the hypnotic Sleep Precious Sleep that closes proceedings. I respect Global Citizen for their approach and on Nil By Mouth I admire them even more for what they’ve achieved.

The best album I’ve heard so far this year. 8/10

Rob Dyer (24 September 2011)

Global Citizen ‘Nil by Mouth’: Viva Music Album Review

About Global Citizen: In the works since 1994 then under the moniker of Constructive Noise Global Citizen took their name from the title of one of their initial b-side tracks; in its turn the name of the track was inspired by a combination of a cosmopolitan mercenary of the likes of Leona and the notion of globalization entailed by the early years of the internet. In their contemporariness Global Citizen released two album Master Stroke (2008) and Nil by Mouth (2011) as well as numerous singles and extended versions of tracks from these albums: Tea Time, Early Morning Star, Broken Doll, as well as Dont Make It Slow (forthcoming).

Global Citizen ‘Nil by Mouth’, “ Viva Music Review:

Nil by Mouth was a 1997 movie written and directed by Gary Oldman which remained in cinema history not only because it is a good movie and incidentally Oldman’s debut as both writer and director but also for saucy trivia such as the number of times the f-word is repeated through the movie (428 or 3.54/minute “ yes! someone counted!). Global Citizen cannot take pride in the same record with their album ‘Nil by Mouth’,  only one such use of the f-word may seem in total opposition with the movie and in fact it is. Global Citizen don’t need the f- word in order to get dirty seems to be the moral of the album. Without being a general audience movie (keep on reading and you will find out why) ‘Nil by Mouth’ aims high and scores bull’s-eye in no time. With a very good competitive edge to their electronica the guys in Global Citizen take a deep dive into sonic pleasures they wish to share with their listeners and in fact they manage to create quite a stir! With their dark moody twisted sexy and often downright perverse music with striking imagery they are clearly setting on a mission to seduce. And while to some it may be altogether x-rated content ‘Nil by Mouth’ is also a conveyor of good music and good feelings.

The kickoff track for this good music and these good feelings is ‘Kimochi Ii’ (ambiguous Japanese for general language good feeling and hentai-connoisseur I have come; it is not the first time Global Citizen flirted with Japanese eroticism as their first album featured a ‘Bukkake Smile’ track). A very healthy track with numerous musical incursions and a very delicate genre corolla it is quite a good appetizer for the album and also a very powerful track. Not unlike ‘Kimochi Ii’, Don’t Make It Slow expected as a single release grows out of the previous track and supersedes the expectations set by it. A sensuous seduction game in itself the track is served HOT with appropriate lyrics (and chorus; the lines You’re biting on the pillow your nails rip through my skin, are quite evocative and provocative don’t you think?) and with a simmering dark vibe that really suits the context. The fact that it is also supposed to come out as a single release is not without consequence; if we take into account the number of reworks and remixes from which releases from the same album namely, ‘Broken Doll’ and ‘Early Morning Star’ we can already imagine a wealth of interpretation of the track that sounds so good in its album edit version!

Things’ is also an appealing track in its relentless self-judgmental only line, make things difficult for myself, and it comes in a pack that also includes a very appropriate music line a sort of sonic companion for the processes running through the mind of someone who judges him/herself anything but lightly. And then Global Citizen do not leave their guard down and take us forward with their ‘New’. There are tinges of old-school Marylin Manson in the track not at all at the most overt level but it surely brings back to mind the same mist of erudite sexuality and exoticism. In the plot of the song the memory of a geisha who was advertised as being ‘new’ and whose business might thrive if Global Citizen promoted their services (and phone number!) via a song is really touching and one cannot but wonder how many listeners actually dialed the number and who was on the other end of the telephone! (For the record the number is: 07981.052.645“ anything from real promotion to revenge on a bad girlfriend comes to mind).

After the song that gives the title of the album Nil by Mouth’, the time has come for the listener to confront him/herself with the magic wrought by ‘Broken Doll’. With its abasiophilia scenario (referring to the sexual attraction to people who are partially or temporarily impaired and/or wearing prosthetic casts) it gives in vivid colors and with a teasing musical line quite an engaging song the conclusion of which is poetical to say the least: ‘The city is seething with attention seeking pleasure providing broken dolls’.

And if you thought that is Global Citizen at its most earnest then you are probably wrong. The bondage fantasy of ‘Early Morning Star, including a plethora a sexual practices from binding to what French sensualist poets would have applauded if they heard of Global Citizen ‘romancing the hole’, fades in front of the musical content of the song. How lucky Global Citizen are to provide such good music to debatable content! Lovely as is in fact the track followed up close by ‘Hilton’,  and ‘Your Majesty’ is also a privileged one since it benefited from no less than 11 remixes! You need however to hold up for what is coming next: ‘Immaculate Ejaculate’ a cursive track that seals a win-win deal with the listener. Notwithstanding their consistency throughout the album the band are not uneasy with providing totally new melodic content and the last track from their ‘Nil by Mouth’, ‘Sleep Precious Sleep’ illustrates this notion very methodically. With a thick layer of 1980’s nostalgic electronica cushioned between the edgier and darker sounds that pertain to the times we live in ‘Sleep Precious Sleep’ would not have sounded so good even if it were commissioned work for already notorious artists. It is genuine pure and sincere, what else can you ask from a song?

All in all Global Citizen divide their time and attention in ‘Nil by Mouth’ between being romantic sensualists and softcore fetishists; but they do not work out such division of labor when it comes to music: their music has nothing obscene about it and definitely nothing of lower quality. Their sustained efforts come in high dosage and with multiple facets and make ‘Nil by Mouth’ a very recommendable listen! Enjoy!

September 23 2011

DARK 7 FESTIVAL Date: Sunday 17th April 2011
GLOBAL CITIZEN Genre: Dark Electro-Industrial

Global Citizen are a bit of an AntiChrist super-group: On vocals we have Rich ‘September’ Mills who resembles Anton ‘Leviathan’ LaVay keyboardist Vade Retro is a dead ringer for Marilyn Manson Second keyboardist Calum ‘Jo The Waiter’ Gray has that vampire look about him and drummer Jakub ‘January’ Oles looks like a fresh zombie! They all have a great stage presence as you’d expect with such a strong visual appearance. The music is tight and sounds massive! They are going for a Rammstein-ish sound and they are succeeding.  The sound was almost too big for The Underworld – epic to say the least. Global Citizens’ music is very song orientated as opposed to beats bass and slogan-sound bites: they slowed things down somewhat which made for a good contrast to the other bands. Rich’s vocals could have done with a smatter of reverb/chorus to compliment the music better but overall Global Citizen are very very very impressive as Rich told me in the dressing room “”We look and sound like no-one else … We’re gonna be outstanding”” …. I would have hated to be in a position to write a contradictory review.  Global Citizen has that something extra which you’d want to see and hear again! I know I do!

Blue Gene – Writer/Editor – Synthetic Sensations Magazine Issue 3 – June 2011.

http://www.brutalresonance.com/viewreview.php?id=1197
Nil By Mouth (2010) Global Citizen Glory & Honour, Electro Industrial England

Glory & Honour are a brand new label and PR team working from bases in Volgograd Russia and Hampshire England. In the few months that they’ve been going they’ve signed up a small number of great acts including Analog Angel (whom I previously recommended) and Global Citizen. Global Citizen have just released their second album and features a naked woman on the cover with exposed Breasts and a Ballgag. That sentence alone is going to make half of you very very alert. The Dark progressive proto-goth sound that Global Citizen (led by Rich Mills) convey makes them a figurehead band for the label. Most of you will expect this act to sound mediocre and rely on imagery and the truly wonderful stage paint that Rich wears to carry them. Wrong. ‘Kimochi II’ is as broody as you’d expect from a release focused on bondage and sexual deviancy and the drum beat can almost be a masked inquisitor entering the dungeon via the stony stairs. Let’s just accept it – Sex sells and everyone knows it. ‘Don’t Make it Slow’ is almost funky – it’s Dark Electro but has far more of an upbeat EBM stance to it than acts that share the tag. I’m actually highly reminded of Third Realm but the bass on this CD gives it more of a swagger and it’s almost like a pimp strolling down the sidewalk. I’m reminded of Bain Wolfkind and his song ‘I get Turned on when I get the Money Out’. The difference is that this quartet have a refined and more memorable approach to their Electronica. I could dare invite the more adventurous of you to utilise this CD as a soundtrack to porn with titles like ‘Immaculate Ejaculate’ ‘Nil By Mouth’ and ‘Early Morning Star’ the onus is truly on Erotica and this album sounds very very attractive. The title track gets my vote for most memorable as well. Interesting act and very promising label. I can’t wait to see how this spices up the scene. Edit: I forgot to mention the production on this CD. The production is considerably stronger than I expected the Drums (which are hardest to get right) sound low enough in the mix to maintain their own identity and not steal the show and it’s done with enough aplomb and intent to secure the theme and ideas to not lose their traction. Above all else this sounds and feels dark and it’s exactly what I think they wanted.

Nick Quarm (Brutal Resonance) 07th  September 2011

http://screaming-static.blogspot.com/2011/01/global-citizen-nil-by-mouth-review-by.html

Global Citizen are an Industrial/Alternative Electro act based in London and recently released ‘Nil by Mouth’ which is their second album. Global Citizen’s sound is a pleasant change from the almost incessant ‘oontz oontz oontz’ that permeates the Industrial and electronic scene at large focusing instead on ‘the power of mood and atmosphere’ (as quoted from their facebook page).

The First single off of the new album is Early Morning Star which was recently picked as one of the tracks of 2010 by Soundsphere Magazine. (video contains naughty images;) This is a pretty good indicator of what the album holds for the inquiring listener. Each track has lashings of atmosphere with a strong sense of claustrophobia. This combined with the unusual Numan esque style vocals and cleverly layered pads give the listener a rich and decadent listen. This is definitely an album to be listened to as opposed to heard as there is a lot to be missed if you aren’t paying attention and a lot of effort has clearly been put into each track and its place in the album.

Nil By Mouth’s tendency towards slower tempos and layered tapestries of sound is refreshing and allows for a very different sound when compared to most of the modern Industrial/Electronic scene but it can also lead to some of the less immediately satisfying tracks becoming pedestrian and drawn out. However when seen as a whole this is more than made up for by the organic and cohesive way that the album was put together with a lot of thought put into the ebb and flow of each track into the next.

Favourite Tracks: Don’t Make It Slow – If you were to cross 90s Manson with 00’s Gary Numan you are getting somewhere close to this ridiculously groovy track. Nil By Mouth – The title track of this album is reminiscent of ‘The Downward Spiral/The Fragile’ period of Trent Reznor’s work whilst retaining the Global Citizen penchant for atmospheric groove. Your Majesty – What is essentially a straight-forward piece of Electro-Rock is perfectly placed on the album to give the listener a kick in the balls when they least expected it.

Summary Value For Money: 8/10 – Can be found for £6.99 £7.99 and $9.99 all of which are pretty reasonable.

Production: 8/10 – Overall a very strong production everything sits where it should and the complex layers of sound that Global Citizen construct manage to come across well without becoming too muddied.

Lyrical Content: 8/10 – Global Citizen’s lyrics are often witty cheeky and often fairly suggestive but certainly never boring and rarely predictable 😉 Originality: 7/10 – Global Citizen wear their influences proudly with a nod to Gary Numan in particular. Saying that they are definitely distinguishable as their own entity and their sound and concept is very much their own.

The Tracks: 7/10 – This album is a mixture of distorted grooves and claustrophobic soundscapes and is definitely an album in the traditional sense that the whole collection of music sits well together as a single piece of art as opposed to a series of singles. However ‘Nil By Mouth’s’ tendency towards the slow and subtle means it is more likely to be an album for certain moods as opposed to an ‘anytime anywhere’ kind of album.

Summary: 38/50 – A strong album particularly as a whole piece as opposed to individual tracks. Definitely more than the sum of its parts this album needs to be listened to in one go to truly enjoy it. If you enjoy Gary Numan Depeche Mode Nine Inch Nails and/or Rico definitely get this on your Mp3 player for those times you want to listen to something that will envelop you!

Steve Fearon (Open Eyed Dreamer) 4th January 2011


http://truecultheavymetal.com/index.php/dominion/2010/11/09/band-of-the-week-global-citizen

This is my Eastern Promise Formed from the ashes of ‘Constructive Noise’ in 2003 Global Citizen remains the brainchild of founder Rich Mills aka September. Heavily influenced by Gary Numan John Foxx Japanese culture Depeche Mode and sex Global Citizen deliver their heavy synth laden industrial sound both live and on CD with burning passion and usually with their tongue firmly in someone else’s cheek. The doomy bass synths and pounding rhythms form a solid basis for Rich’s lyrics often strewn with sexual references twisted emotions and debauched exploits. This is a man that bares all quite literally/lyrically for his art.

On the live scene Global Citizen have built a solid reputation for giving an intense show with Rich at the helm commanding the audience with his icy ‘Hellraiser meets Emperor Ming’ image. His vocals are deep almost Tovey-esque but with a razor sharp edge. Initially backed by Junko on keys the band has now expanded (after a few line-up changes) to a four piece consisting of Vade & Calum on keys and Jakub on drums. Recent shows have been reported to have been even more powerful due to these new additions which I personally look forward to witnessing.

Self-released up until 2007 from the debut ‘Metal’ single in 2003 Global Citizen’s discography runs long. Four albums seven singles and a new album on the way hopefully before Xmas 2010 entitled ‘Nil By Mouth’ on RebCo Records. Their ‘Tea Time’ 12″” picture disc released in 2008 was even listed in the Record Collector magazine’s Most Wanted List recently! The recording process remains under the tight control of Rich who has nurtured his child over the past 7 years developed it promoted it groomed it shaped it managed it and perversed it!

Of all their songs my personal faves are “”Plucking the Daisy”” “”Skinny”” “”The Only One”” “”Bukkake Smile”” and “”Tea Time””. If you get a chance to see them play live GO! It’s always a brilliant show as Rich is a true master of his craft on stage. He’ll scare you intimidate you tease you stare at you un-nerve you fascinate you undress you and make you a convertee to the Global Citizen sound.

Look out for the release of their new album soon and if you find any of their previous releases BUY THEM! Don’t expect to be bored by mindless faceless 120bpm techno Rich Mills & Global Citizen batter you in to submissive submission with bass heavy industrialism that Numan/Foxx et al can only dream of.